Porfirio’s Tacos

When in Austin, I’m always hankering for a great Taco. I visit often so I have my favorite go to places I swear by. 

On my most recent visit, I stumbled upon a  no frills joint I loved  – it’s called Porfirio’s Tacos.

  

Porfirio’s is in East Austin, like most or the other great Mexican/Taco joints. It’s located on Holly Street  in the back of a small corner strip mall.  There’s a cool old school sign that stands out, so you can’t really miss it, along with a few parking spots in front.  

  

Porfirio’s serves a variety of  Breakfast Tacos include the usual combos, bacon and egg, potato, cheese and egg, beans and egg etc. You can also order tacos with the meat of your choice and a variety of  Mexican lunch plates. There’s no table service, so order at the counter, while you smell the yumminess of tacos and Mexican Food being prepared from the open kitchen behind.   After ordering, sit at one of the few small tables while you wait in anticipation for your meal. 

  

I wanted one last memorable  taco before heading out of Austin, so I ordered a local staple, The Migas Taco. The Migas Taco at Porfiro’s did not disappoint.  Eggs, cheese, peppers and chopped up tortillas were perfectly seasoned and cooked, and generously filled a single thick warm flour tortilla.  House made Green Salsa Verde is offered, but honestly not needed.  I devoured one taco there and took one to go for the plane ride home.  This is one of the biggest yummiest Migas Tacos I’ve eaten lately – and it was a delicious filling bargain at $2.35 plus tax.

  

Porfirio’s is open Mon-Sat from 6 am to 1 pm and is located at 1512 Holly Street in Austin. 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

